You may have noticed that there is now a specially commissioned memorial plaque displayed on the village hall, which commemorates the resilience of our community during the pandemic.

The plaque which is now displayed on the village hall

It was presented to the Parish Council but it should be noted that it is for all residents in the whole village.

This is a norfolk-wide initiative by the lord lieutenant’s office to recognise the sacrifices and community spirit which have been shown in the first year of the pandemic, and onwards. So there will be similar plaques in other villages around the county.

From the lord lieutenant:

“I have heard of numerous inspirational stories of how communities have come together to support others and I very much wanted to mark this. Although the Parish Councils are the conduit, I should emphasise that the plaque is for your community as a whole.”

Sue Stacey of the Parish Council, accepting the plaque on behalf of the Parish residents, from Bryony Falkus, a Deputy Lieutenant for Lady Dannatt HM Lord-Lieutenant of Norfolk

While the plaque itself isn’t unique to Alpington and Yelverton, we can look back at our own initiatives within the parish with pride. Alongside all the ad-hoc acts of kindness and resilience, the village had a defined plan for a crisis event such as this, and it was actioned quickly and with a lot of impact. See the previous posts on the community action plan:

action plan introduction action plan update relaunch on new lockdown
Community volunteers Tez Roberts (left) and Rhona Shuttleworth, alongside Sue Stacey of the Parish Council, who was an organiser of the community volunteer response.

The design of the plaque incorporates the skills of a recent graduate from Norwich University of the Arts, Ruby Douglass, and the wording from a team at Norwich’s National Centre for Writing. The cost of the project has been covered by generous sponsorship from Adnams, the Red Socks Charitable Trust, the Geoffrey Watling Charity, the Pennycress Trust, the Kip and Alison Bertram Trust and the Sybil Cholmondeley Trust.